Roy Williams: I got a lot of people to shut up

Here it is.  My column from today’s Star-Telegram on Cowboys safety Roy Wiliams.  Be sure to check out the interview on Friday August 29th on NBC 5 at 7PM in our Cowboys preseason special.

Enjoy it and let me know your thoughts!!

There is a love-hate relationship with the Metroplex media and Dallas Cowboys safety Roy Williams. He went from a media favorite his rookie season to a player who rarely came into the locker room during media access last season.

He has been put down and told he’s no good by one too many media members for his liking.

Redemption. That is what the 2008 NFL season is about for Roy Williams.

The four-time Pro Bowler has lost weight and changed his number back to 38, which he wore at Oklahoma.

I spoke with Williams for 35 minutes Sunday off camera and we spoke for another 35 minutes on camera Tuesday.

Do you read the paper? I read the paper now. It’s important. I need to know what people are really feeling, what they are saying about me.

As you’ve read it, what did you find out? It fueled me. It fueled me up. That’s why this season is going to be a good season. I got a lot of people to shut up.

You feel the media coverage of you is unfair? Have I been done wrong? Probably. I mean I feel the best thing for me to do is not to talk. I don’t have any anger toward them. I do interviews now. I have actually done interviews with people who have said stuff about me. There is no anger there.

Do you take it personally? Yeah, I take it personally.

Do you have thick skin? Why should I have thick skin? I am a human being. I’m not saying I’m a sensitive person, but when you attack somebody’s character and you don’t have anything positive to say about somebody, why should I be overjoyed to be having an interview with somebody who’s been tearing me up, and you have all these other fans buying into the stuff … and it’s not even correct.

Then you want to put a microphone in my mouth and smile in front of my face? No. Don’t be like that. Shoot me straight. I’m a grown man. You don’t have to lie to me.

How do you feel about your cover skills? I feel great about them. I feel great about my cover skills. Great.

What if you aren’t playing on third downs? I don’t have a problem with that. Our main goal is to win games, and that’s what I want to do. If me being on the sideline and letting Anthony [Henry] and Adam [Jones] go in there and play, that’s totally fine by me. I’m not bigger than the team.

Any forgiveness toward your critics? Football is a show-me game. I am under a microscope, which is a good thing. But this season … is my season. I’m gettin’ down. Until I leave here I’m gettin’ down. I’m not playing for them [critics], but I want to let them know ain’t nothing wrong with me. I got this. I’m going to do this. I love this game. I love my teammates and being a Cowboy.

Cowboys owner Jerry Jones has said Williams has been having a fine training camp. As for battles with the local media, time will either expose Williams or promote him.

Newy Scruggs is the sports director at NBC 5.

0 Responses to “Roy Williams: I got a lot of people to shut up”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

