One Of My Toughest Days

My last post was about Cowboys linebacker Demarcus Ware and how he and his wife endured three failed pregnancies before adopting a baby girl.

I had my wife read the story yesterday at breakfast.

Today, I am trying to deal with my wife’s miscarriage.

It is not easy, but we have two kids already.   God’s given me two blessings, I can’t be mad I didn’t get the third.

A part of me is feels guilty because I would like to have a son.  Maybe this is a sign that two children is all we should have, or maybe it just wasn’t the right time.

Thank goodness we have those two little rug rats that keep our minds off the loss.  I haven’t had to time to have a small cry, but I think about Ware and his family, and that keeps me from tears.

They had a stillborn child two years ago and they lost another pregnancy before the Cowboys playoff game last year.   I can’t feel sad knowing that.

I have a great wife.  She lost the baby before I was to go on the air last night, she didn’t want to call me because I was supposed to do the 10 PM sports.  I had taped the segment earlier in the night because things were not looking good.  I feel bad I wasn’t there.

So today we move forward.   A song by Gerald Levert called Made To Love You has gotten me through the day.  I love the lyrics.

Cause I was made to love ya

My hands to touch ya, my arms to hold ya

My legs to stand, my time to spend

With you forever, I was made, made to love ya

This is a tough day.  We have to respect God’s will and remember the blessings he has given our family.

Thanks for reading. 

2 Responses to “One Of My Toughest Days”


  1. 1 Jennifer June 20, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Newy,

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family in dealing with your loss. I think that your wife knows the type of man you are and didn’t want to affect the other part of your life that you love so much – and that is sports. I’ve seen your sportscast (I only watch NBC news), and you’ve mentioned your family in with your sports talk. I can tell you are a family man, and like you said, God put you in a certain time and place. Sure, you might have wanted to be there with your wife, but would you have felt any better, or perhaps God was giving you a means of dealing with it and you didn’t even know it until after. I did a similar thing when I was told my grandfather died – I wasn’t there or drive straight to the house. I was elsewhere, but my family knew that is how I had to deal with it until the funeral. God has and will continue to bless you and your family. 🙂

  2. 2 Matthew July 11, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Newy as I just posted a comment on the Blog you did for Demarcus Ware I wanted to give my thoughts and prayers to you. I wanted to read that post and i wish the best for you and your wife GOD Bless and hope to hear you more on the radio, I miss you I was a listener of you and Coop when you did midays 1pm was my drive time..Best of luck..


Leave a Reply

