I Just Talked To Avery Johnson

The Mavs coach was on his way home to the Woodlands when we spoke by phone. 

Avery Jr. was taken off on a stretcher.  He was playing football at school and got hurt.   He wanted to check in on his kid.  That is more important than having a press conference with the DFW media.

He will meet with the media tommorrow at 11am.

Avery was not mad.  “It’s time,” he said without any anger in his voice.    The 2006 NBA Coach of the Year will walkaway with over 12 million in pay.  Mavs owner Mark Cuban has to pay a lot of money to make him go away.

Johnson told me he did not want to make it battle of words with Cuban.  He said he wasn’t angry.  He will be interested to see what the next coach does.

Avery didn’t say it, but I know him and his pride says this, “See how good the Mavs are without me.  Let’s see if the next coach will win 60, 67, and 51 wins and make the NBA Finals.”

Avery Johnson did not want to trade Devin Harris for Jason Kidd.   He didn’t say it, but he said “Devin was like a son to me.  He’s my second son.”  

Read the tea leaves…this was a move Dirk Nowitzki wanted.  It was a move Mark Cuban wanted and Avery played the good solider.

Avery wants to leave things on a high note but he needed to leave.  He said it was time to go.  I know his message got stale in the Mavs locker room.   He’s not the first coach to have that happen.  Pat Riley lost his job with the Lakers in the same fashion.  

We’ve seen it go down in Dallas-Fort Worth before, remember Buck Showalter of the Texas Rangers?

“Control freaks” are what we call them.

Avery will get another job.  He will be fine. 

newy@newdawg.com

7 Responses to “I Just Talked To Avery Johnson”


  1. 1 Holly April 30, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    As if the Kidd trade hadn’t hurt our team enough .. now we get rid of the best coach we’ve ever had?!

    I know Cuban wants a ring but I dont think getting rid of Avery is the best way to get that ring. Im highly disappointed. Yes, changes definitely need to be made. We’ve gone from almost winning the title to not being able to make it past the first round of the playoffs. I think the changes need to take place on the court. We need new players.

    I wont be holding my breath for next season. We gave away our draft picks for one of the worst trades in basketball. And have nothing to show for it.

  2. 2 Avery Fan April 30, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Well Mark Cuban you have done it again!!! You never think before you make these crazy trades and then you have the nerve to let Avery Johnson go. I just sold my season tickets!!! Next year make better trades and get the team back on course. Avery was the best COACH we have had in a long time! Good luck Johnson, I hope that you can lead the Nicks to a Championship ( They are ready to talk$$$$$$)

  3. 3 Nan April 30, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Holly -I agree 100%! Mark Cuban needs to rethink everything he has done for the past year. It has NOT helped our Dallas Mavericks. I dread next season and think it will be “interesting’ as Coach Avery Johson states!

  4. 4 Nan April 30, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Holly- I agree 100%. I dread next season and think Mark Cuban needs to use his brain for a change. Avery Johnson was the best coach ever
    and Cuban went and screwed that up.

  5. 5 jstiegelmeyer April 30, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    I agree with Avery…”It’s time”. Avery was a good coach and I have no doubt he will go on the be successful at his next destination. Given the choice of keeping Avery or the players, I would keep the players. Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way in the NBA. And, something has to change.

  6. 6 jstiegelmeyer April 30, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    I meant to say, “Given the choice of keeping Avery or the players, I would keep Avery”.

  7. 7 dude1394 April 30, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Avery is full of it. He wanted kidd as much as anyone. Very dissappointing for him to try and distance himself now after everyone sees that he can’t change an inch to accomodate someone who doesn’t fit what he thinks a point guard should be.

    Not only had the players tuned him out, but avery had tuned everyone else out as well.


Leave a Reply

